Food Pyramid: Concept, Components and Benefits

Food Pyramid: Concept, Components and Benefits

Food Pyramid: Concept, Components and Benefits

Public health represents a state of balance for the functions of the human body; The World Health Organization says that it is a state of public safety in all aspects of the human body, mental and social. Based on that, it can be said that the issue of healthy balanced nutrition occupies a distinguished position in the concerns of different peoples. This is due to its important and vital role in maintaining the general health of the individual.

First, what is the food pyramid?

The food pyramid is a guide in the form of a representative drawing that resembles a pyramid, its base is large and gets smaller as we go to the top, and this pyramid includes a variety of food portions that must be taken daily and in a specific amount to obtain a balanced diet.

The US Department of Agriculture is the first to issue a nutritional guide; And that during 1992, and in 2005 a version of it was developed under the name “my pyramid”; The food pyramid contains the five food groups that each individual must adhere to and that provide the body with all the elements it needs.

One group cannot replace another group; Rather, they are groups of integrated elements with each other, and their presence together is what achieves the desired benefit, and none of them can be dispensed with. The food pyramid serves as a guide and guide that determines the correct and healthy quantities that must be eaten to maintain the safety of the body and the safety of its members.
The food pyramid aims to:
Promote the physical health of the individual by eating healthy food.
Make the most of foods rich in nutrients such as proteins, vitamins, minerals and fiber, and reduce foods that are harmful to the body such as sugars.
Ensuring the normal growth and development of the body, especially for children.
Reducing the percentage of diseases that result from eating unhealthy foods and the complications of those diseases.

Second: The components of the food pyramid

The food pyramid consists of five groups that are combined in healthy food, which are

1. Cereals

The first group is located at the base of the pyramid, and this group is important because it contains carbohydrates that provide the body with energy and reduce the risk of cholesterol accumulation, as well as reduce the risk of digestive problems such as constipation and indigestion, in addition to maintaining a healthy heart and containing important fibers and minerals for the body.

Among the products in this group: rice, bread, pasta, and potatoes, and it is recommended to eat 6 to 11 servings of them daily.

2. Vegetables

It comes in second place starting from the base of the pyramid and is very important to the body, as it is incendiary food, low in calories and low in fat, and contributes to increasing the feeling of satiety and reducing the size and number of meals an individual eats during the day, as it is rich in vitamins such as vitamin (A) and vitamin (E). ), minerals such as potassium, calcium, iron, and antioxidants, and is also considered a food that strengthens the body’s immunity and prevents cancer, and it is recommended to eat 3 to 5 servings of vegetables per day.

Here, vegetables are divided into four main sections:

  • Starchy vegetables: such as potatoes and corn.
  • Leafy green vegetables: such as broccoli, spinach, parsley and lettuce.
  • Orange vegetables: such as carrots.
  • Other vegetables: such as tomatoes, cucumbers, cauliflower, onions, garlic, and others.

3. Fruits

It can be consumed in the form of natural juices or eaten as it is, but it is preferable to eat it correctly, but if it is in the form of juices, it should be eaten without adding sugar, and fruits are rich in water and are saturated, so one apple can make the individual feel full, in addition to its richness in a special type of fiber. Able to lower cholesterol.

It also contains a high percentage of vitamin C, in addition to various antioxidants, and from fruits: oranges, apples, bananas, kiwis, strawberries, yellow and red watermelons, etc., and 2 to 5 servings of fruits should be eaten daily.

4. Milk and its derivatives

This group is badly needed by the body and in sufficient quantities, which is the group of milk and its derivatives, and from dairy and cheese: cheddar, koreish, white cheese and other types of foods rich in calcium and protein, and works to protect bones from fracture or osteoporosis, strengthen joints and teeth and strengthen muscles, and according to the pyramid Food should be taken from 2 to 3 servings per day, and when eating milk, it is preferable to have low fat.

5. Proteins

Proteins are abundant in eggs and all kinds of meat, such as red meat such as beef, goat or lamb, and white meat such as poultry and birds, and seafood such as fish, shrimp and clams, and also we can find protein in legumes such as lentils, chickpeas and beans, and meat contains in addition to protein It contains many minerals such as zinc, iron and calcium, and it is preferable to eat 2 to 3 servings of them.

In addition to these groups, a small group is located in a small part at the top of the pyramid and includes fats, sweets and sugary foods that the body needs in a very small percentage and can even be dispensed with.

Third: The developed food pyramid

It is an updated version of the well-known food pyramid, and it is in the form of adjacent slices and has a vertical shape, indicating the similar importance of all foods, in addition to the necessity of diversifying foods and counting oil as an integral part of healthy food, but on the condition that we get it from fish or nuts, and it contains in addition to food Health is based on other elements, and according to this pyramid, the portion required to be eaten varies from one individual to another according to the nature of his body and his daily needs. Get the desired results overnight.

Leave a Comment